My first sale!

Purple and Green. Made for a 19 year old. I really hope she likes it.

Well I’m pretty excited. I’ve had a lot of really good feedback, through Facebook and real life encounters, about all of my crocheted items. Many people have asked if I have set up an Etsy store or plan to sell the hats. I haven’t set up an Etsy store. To be honest, I’m pretty intimidated by the all of the other crafters out there! I just don’t feel like I can compete (yet).

I am however, considering setting up a separate Facebook page to sell some items. But all this has to wait until finals are over. And probably Christmas too. I like the idea of this because I think it would be more local business and word of mouth, which is the kind of business that I think I can handle at this point in my life. I don’t want to get in over my head with trying to raise kids, maintain my messy house, and go to school.

The items I made were three hats. I made a black and grey boy’s beanie and lined it with fleece. First time hand sewing into a hat like that, first time lining with fleece. I definitely made some mistakes but my learning curve is usually high with this sort of thing…it will be better next time. I made a red and blue girls brimmed beanie which turned out adorable. And an adult sized brimmed beanie with a strap and a couple of buttons.

Black and Grey boy's beanie. I lined the band with fleece to keep ears extra warm during cold Montana winters!

It was very interesting working for someone rather than my own creative impulses. It forced me to both be compliant and think outside of the box. How can I take someone’s basic idea for something, make it work so they are happy, and make it look good so that the quality is high and I’m creating a good name for myself and the things I make? It was fun.

I didn’t charge much for these hats because this was my first time making them. $1o for each of the kid’s hat and $15 for the adult sized hat. I spent way too long to justify the price, but this time, I’m completely ok with that. It was after all, first a learning experience for me, and second a way to make a little extra cash. I’m saving this money for gas money for our trip home to see Grandparents. I can’t tell you how much pride I take in that. In my own little way, I’m able to help out my family get by and make this holiday season a little less stressful.

Red and Blue were the requested colors for this child's hat. I suggested the brim and flower and I think it turned out super cute.

Purple and Green closeup

Leave a Reply

