Beef and Pork Sausage Meatballs

Beef and Sausage meatballs served over leftover sweet potato hash

I created my own Paleo Recipe! That is to say, I deliberately put together ingredients and kept track of what I was doing in the hope that I could share it later. I’m very excited.

I am always so inspired by all the Paleo and Primal blogs that I see around the internet. Their photography is amazing and their food is absolutely mouthwatering. I never feel very creative myself and am not really aspiring to the level that so many other blogs are at. But if I can help share a healthy recipe here or two for someone else, that’s good enough for me!

It’s the end of the month here and for those of us who are poh’ folk know, it’s also the we’re-out-of-foodstamps time of months. I told myself I would not go to the grocery store and buy any more meat until I had used everything out of my freezer first. So that’s how these meatballs came about. This was what I had on hand and it turned out tasting pretty good! I served my meatballs on top of leftover sweet potato hash with some baby carrots on the side. The carrots were the only vegetables I had left! Everything else went into the meatballs.

On with the recipe … 🙂 (I’ve always wanted to write that!)

Beef and Sausage Meatballs

Created by Jacey Hermann

Recipe makes 80 meatballs!!! Feel free to halve the amount if you don’t need as much or increase meatball size and cooking time for fewer meatballs.

The stuff you need:

  • 2 lbs 85/15 Ground Beef

    My mini ice-cream/cookie turned meatball scoop. It's a real time saver.

  • 1 ½ lbs Pork Sausage (breakfast sausage)
  • 1 Yellow Onion, diced fine
  • 2 large Carrots, shredded
  • 2 small-to-medium Zucchini’s, shredded
  • 1 cup Almond Flour
  • 4 Eggs
  • 1Tbsp Garlic Powder
  • 1 Tbsp dried Oregano
  • 1 Tbsp dried Parsley
  • 1 Tbsp dried Basil
  • Sea salt and Black Pepper to taste
  • Recommended: Small “ice cream” scoop – makes forming the meatballs a breeze and super fast – I use this one.

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  1. Combine all ingredients into a large bowl until thoroughly mixed—easiest to just use your hands. (I used the largest mixing bowl I have in my cooking arsenal.)
  1. Form meatballs with the scoop and put them onto a cookie sheet. I like to get as many on as possible so I have fewer pans to cook. But I ended up having to cook 3 and it would have been that way no matter how many I put on the sheet. They don’t have be very spread apart so I was able to fit 30 on my largest cookie sheet. Leave a small amount of space in between each meatball.

    Ready to go into the oven!

  1. Cook for 15-20 minutes in center rack of oven. Cut one open to check for doneness. Cooking times may vary with ovens. Mine took 16 minutes. They were starting to turn golden brown on top and were well done in the middle.

Serve with spaghetti squash and marinara sauce if you want. Or spaghetti squash sautéed in olive oil and salt and pepper. I ate mine with a little bit of pesto but I think pesto on the spaghetti squash and then meatballs on top would have been great.

Possible additions or variations:

  • Olive oil—these meatballs weren’t dry but I think a little olive oil in the meatball mixture would make it yummy. I just didn’t think of it at the time I was making them originally.
  • Fresh Basil– 3 cups chopped up would have been amazing but I didn’t have any on hand.
  • Parmesan or Ricotta cheese– we have a dairy allergy in this family so had to skip on this.
  • Red Pepper Flakes—for a little kick!

I hope you enjoy this recipe! Let me know what you think.

Beef and Sausage meatballs served over leftover sweet potato hash

One response to “Beef and Pork Sausage Meatballs

Leave a Reply

