Day 1 – 30-Day Primal Blueprint Challenge

Starting this off right!

Breakfast was the usual. Scrambled eggs cooked in some butter and 2 pieces of bacon. I had poured myself a cup of coffee with a little bit of cream and splenda in it, but I didn’t end up drinking it. So I grabbed an Americano this morning while I was out running errands.

Lunch: I had a couple of yellow summer squash that my Dad gave me from his garden, so I chopped those up, threw them in with some olive oil, garlic powder, smoked paprika and curry powder, salt & papper and then tossed in a handful of leftover rotisserie chicken from dinner a couple nights ago. It was pretty good and took all of 5-10 minutes. Unfortunately one of the squash was starting to go bad. I thought I picked out most of the questionable pieces but some still got in. So I mostly just ate the chicken. 😦 Bad me for waiting too long to cook that up.

The plan for dinner tonight will most likely be Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic. I’ll substitute the flour with some Almond Flour. Sides will probably be some sauteed frozen veggies. I’ll post pictures tonight!! I’m also contemplating making this Avocado “Alfredo” Sauce (minus the pasta) to put over the veggies and/or chicken. But I might also wait on that. Depends on how the chicken turns out. If I don’t cook this tonight I’ll be cooking it tomorrow night.

Planned workouts today: Walking to and from school and lifting tonight at the gym.

* * *

The hardest part of my day is coming home from school and transitioning back into being the Mom and Wife.  My husband is super supportive and helps me a lot around the house. But for the most part I am the person in charge of food around here. It’s really hard to have to start thinking about dinner and feeding myself and family healthy food when my mind is still thinking about things like Heart of Darkness and decadence and decay and how that plays into the Romantic Quest Narrative. Usually at this time of day I’m completely tired and my brain doesn’t want to work, especially after such focused concentration at school.

I’m probably going to make my go-to meal of Sausage and Cabbage “Noodles” from Everydaypaleo.com tonight. It’s one of my quick go-to meals that I try to keep stocked in the fridge for these nights where I feel like I’ve just run out of energy and/or creativity for dinner. Unfortunately, the downside to this meal is that my son will inevitably complain and I have to steel myself against my usual knee-jerk reaction of anger and frustration at him. Switching a kid who has thrived on carbs, bread, crackers and juice to a Primal diet has been difficult. It feels like 1 step forward and 3 steps back at times, but I think we’re gradually making progress.

On the bright side, I got my low-intensity aerobic activity in today and my direct sunshine. And even though my plans have changed for dinner, I’ve given myself the safeguard of having an easy to make meal available so I don’t cave and order pizza.

– Jacey

Leave a Reply

